2021 a year to forget?

Started by T00ts, December 31, 2021, 09:33:35 AM

« previous - next »

johnofgwent

Quote from: srb7677 on December 31, 2021, 11:52:24 PM
My stand out political memory of 2021 was a personal one and a matter of conscience though not one of wider significance to others. After all I am someone of very little significance in the wider scheme of things. Just little old me. I had been wrestling with my conscience for many months, but eventually my conscience would allow it no longer. It was the moment I left the Labour Party. Only one of hundreds of thousands to do so. But it was a big moment for me. It was not a decision I took lightly and it was not one without a degree of psychological pain. But it had to be done.

I don't know about insignificant. I think quite a few parties have suffered a fall in membership for various reasons, not just Labour. And it must be hitting the membership coffers ....
<t>In matters of taxation, Lord Clyde\'s summing up in the 1929 case Inland Revenue v Ayrshire Pullman Services is worth a glance.</t>

srb7677

Quote from: T00ts on December 31, 2021, 09:33:35 AM
So here we are the last day of the year. What do you remember of the last 12 months? What is your stand out memory that you will take with you? Political or otherwise.

I think my political memory will be how BJ has wasted what was a major election success. Having started the year I think in a fairly good place considering Covid etc, he frittered it away very publicly with decisions in almost every facet of government and his supposedly private life, that I have felt were to say the least, lacking in statesmanship and that have come back to bite him.